REDAC
REssources Développées À CLLE-ERSS Laboratoire CLLE-ERSS







English version
TALISMANE
Tool for the Analysis of Language,
Inferring Statistical Models from the Annotation of Numerous Examples
Description

Talismane is a syntax analyser developped by Assaf Urieli within the framework of his thesis in the CLLE-ERSS laboratory, under the direction of Ludovic Tanguy. It is written entirely in Java, functions on all operating systems, and can easily be integrated with other applications.

Talismane consists of four main modules which transform a raw unannotated text into a series of syntax dependency trees: phrase boundary detection, tokenising, pos-tagging (assigning a part-of-speech to each word) and parsing (generation and labeling of syntax dependencies between words).

Each module's task is defined as a classification problem, and resolved statistically, by training a probabilistic model on an annotated corpus.

Each module may be configured both in terms of features and in terms of rules. Features describe the information available to the algorithm in order to take its decision in a given context, while rules are constraints which force (or prohibit) certain local decisions.

The default French model proposed by Talismane used standard features for each of these operations. For pos-tagging, for example, we calculate for each word features realted to its lexical form, to the parts-of-speech associated with it in a reference lexicon, to the categories of the words surrounding it, etc. The feature definition syntax is expressive enough to define more complex features, such as the fact that the preceding word is surrounded by parentheses.

The rules, which are only applied when analysing (not when training), make it possible to replace or constrain the responses provided by the proababilistic classifier, if a criterion has been met. These rules follow a flexible syntax similar to that of features, and make it possible to avoid aberrant results (such as assigning a closed-class part-of-speech to a word unknown in the lexicon, or assigning two subjects to a verb), as well as respecting the constraints of a specific corpus (by assigning a fixed part-of-speech to a given word, for example).

For parsing, Talismane is based on the algorithm described by (Urieli et Tanguy, 2013) with certain modifications to facilitate the beam search functionality.

Links

Person responsible for resource
Assaf Urieli
Contact :

License
Talismane is distributed under the Affero GPL v3 license.

Quick start

You must install a recent version of Java (> 1.8) and unzip talismane-XXX.zip
You need three files:

  • talismane-distribution-X.X.X-bin.zip
  • talismane-fr-X.X.X.conf
  • frenchLanguagePackvX.X.X.zip
Unzip the file talismane-distribution-X.X.X-bin.zip, but not frenchLanguagePackvX.X.X.zip. Then copy the other two files into into the folder where talismane-distribution-X.X.X-bin.zip was unzipped.

To analyse raw text in French using the default configuration, enter the following command in a terminal:

java -Xmx1G -Dconfig.file=talismane-fr-X.X.X.conf -jar talismane-core-X.X.X.jar encoding=UTF8 inFile=data/frTest.txt outFile=data/frTest.tal

The default encoding (latin1 or UTF-8) is the same as that of your work environment. To Change it, consult the documentation.

Note that the system takes about 20 seconds to load the lexicons into memory before beginning analysis.

For example, if the file example.txt contained the sentence "Les poules du couvent couvent.", the output in exemple.tal should look like:

1LesleDETdetp2det__
2poulespouleNCncfp5suj__
3dudeP+DP+Dms2dep__
4couventcouventNCncms3obj__
5couventcouverVvPS3p0root__
6..PONCTPONCTnull5punct__
References
  • Urieli, Assaf (2013). Robust French syntax analysis: reconciling statistical methods and linguistic knowledge in the Talismane toolkit. PhD thesis. Université de Toulouse II-Le Mirail. [ PDF ] [ BIBTEX ]
  • Urieli, Assaf et Tanguy, Ludovic (2013). L'apport du faisceau dans l'analyse syntaxique en dépendances par transitions : études de cas avec l'analyseur Talismane. Actes de la conférence Traitement Automatique des Langues Naturelles (TALN 2013). Les Sables d'Olonne, France. [ PDF ] [ BIBTEX ]

REDAC : Talismane
REDAC
REssources Développées À CLLE-ERSS Laboratoire CLLE-ERSS







English version
TALISMANE
Traitement Automatique des Langues par Inférence Statistique
Moyennant l'Annotation de Nombreux Exemples
Description

L'outil Talismane est un analyseur syntaxique dĂ©veloppĂ© par Assaf Urieli dans le cadre de sa thèse au sein du laboratoire CLLE-ERSS, sous la direction de Ludovic Tanguy. Il est Ă©crit intĂ©gralement en Java : il fonctionne donc sur tous les systèmes d'exploitation et est facilement intĂ©grable Ă  d'autres applications.

Pour passer d'un texte brut Ă  un rĂ©seau de dĂ©pendances syntaxiques, Talismane utilise une analyse en cascade avec quatre Ă©tapes classiques pour ce type de tâche : le dĂ©coupage en phrases, la segmentation en mots, l'Ă©tiquetage (attribution d'une catĂ©gorie morphosyntaxique), et le parsing (repĂ©rage et Ă©tiquetage des dĂ©pendances syntaxiques entre les mots).

La tâche de chacun des modules est définie comme un problème de classification, et résolue de façon statistique, en entraînant un modèle probabiliste sur un corpus annoté.

Chacun des modules est configurable à la fois au niveau des traits et des règles. Les traits sont les informations sur les configurations rencontrées dont dispose l'algorithme pour prendre chacune des décisions, alors que les règles sont des contraintes qui forcent (ou interdisent) des décisions locales.

Le modèle par défaut proposé par Talismane utilise des traits classiques pour chacune des opérations. Pour l'étiquetage, par exemple, sont calculés pour chaque mot des traits liés à sa forme, aux étiquettes indiquées dans un lexique de référence, aux catégories des mots qui l'entourent, etc. La syntaxe de définition des traits est suffisamment expressive pour définir des traits plus complexes, par exemple le fait que le mot précédent soit situé entre parenthèses.

Les règles, qui ne sont appliquées qu'au moment de l'analyse (et pas lors de l'apprentissage), permettent de remplacer ou de contraindre les réponses fournies par le classifieur probabiliste, quand un critère est rempli. Des règles définissables suivant une syntaxe souple permettent d'éviter des résultats aberrants (comme l'attribution d'une classe fermée à un mot inconnu du lexique, l'attribution de deux sujets à un verbe, etc.) soit de respecter des contraintes propres à un corpus spécifique (en attribuant une catégorie fixe à un mot donné, par exemple).

Pour le parsing, Talismane se base sur l'algorithme décrit par (Urieli et Tanguy, 2013) avec certaines modifications pour rendre possible la recherche par faisceau.

Liens

Responsable ressource
Assaf Urieli
Contact :

Droits
Talismane est distribué sous license Affero GPL v3.

Lancement Rapide

Vous devez installer une version de Java récente (>= 1.8) et extraire l'archive talismane-distribution-XXX-bin.zip (XXX étant le numéro de version, à partir de la version 3.0.0). Dans le même répertoire, placez les fichiers talismane-fr-XXX.conf et frenchLanguagePack-XXX.zip.
Pour analyser un texte brut en français avec une configuration par dĂ©faut, saisissez dans un terminal la commande suivante :

java -Xmx1G -jar -Dconfig.file=talismane-fr-XXX.conf talismane-core-XXX.jar encoding=UTF8 inFile=data/frTest.txt outFile=data/frTest.tal
Le codage du texte par défaut (latin1 ou UTF-8) est celui de votre environnement de travail. Pour le modifier, consultez la documentation.
Notez que le système prend une vingtaine de secondes pour charger les lexiques en mémoire avant de démarrer l'analyse.
Par exemple, si le fichier exemple.txt contient la phrase "Les poules du couvent couvent.", la sortie exemple.tal devrait ĂŞtre la suivante :

1LesleDETdetp2det__
2poulespouleNCncfp5suj__
3dudeP+DP+Dms2dep__
4couventcouventNCncms3obj__
5couventcouverVvPS3p0root__
6..PONCTPONCTnull5punct__

Références
  • Urieli, Assaf (2013). Robust French syntax analysis: reconciling statistical methods and linguistic knowledge in the Talismane toolkit. PhD thesis. Université de Toulouse II-Le Mirail. [ PDF ] [ BIBTEX ]
  • Urieli, Assaf et Tanguy, Ludovic (2013). L'apport du faisceau dans l'analyse syntaxique en dĂ©pendances par transitions : Ă©tudes de cas avec l'analyseur Talismane. Actes de la confĂ©rence Traitement Automatique des Langues Naturelles (TALN 2013). Les Sables d'Olonne, France. [ PDF ] [ BIBTEX ]